Although misdemeanor charges may seem like a mild inconvenience, they can impact your future and reputation when you do not aggressively fight them. Mulitple misdemeanor convictions, regardless of level, can mean enhanced penalties, negative impact on your licenses and restrict your right to own a firearm.
Even though punishment for misdemeanors is less severe than for felonies, the definition of a misdemeanor is any crime punishable by time in jail, prosecutors still have the highest burden of proof—beyond a reasonable doubt. When there is doubt about your guilt, the jury must find you not guilty. We uncover the evidence that plants the seed of doubt. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys do the best for our clients, no matter what it takes. A Frisco misdemeanor lawyer at our firm will dedicate our extensive resources to your case.
Class C Misdemeanor Charges
Class C misdemeanors are the least punitive and are often called ticket offenses. Violators can be fined up to $500 but will not have to serve jail time. Some common Class C misdemeanors include:
- Intoxication in a public place
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
- Disorderly conduct
- Jumping bail
- Stealing anything valued at less than $100
A person accused of a misdemeanor should contact a Frisco lawyer with knowledge of how the county processes them. Misjudging what sheriff’s deputies, police, and prosecutors might do can lead to convictions even though a good defense is available.
Examples of Class B Misdemeanors
Class B misdemeanors include charges for low-level theft, DWI, and many other offenses. Among the most common Class B misdemeanors our attorneys in Frisco see is possession of less than two ounces of marijuana.
Although many states have legalized possessing marijuana for medical or recreational use, Texas is not one of them, except for low doses of THC in limited circumstances under a doctor’s prescription. According to Texas Health and Safety Code § 481.121, people caught with two ounces of weed or less face a Class B misdemeanor and can face a Class A misdemeanor when caught with more than two ounces and up to four ounces. Charges can escalate to felonies for more than four ounces. For a Class B misdemeanor conviction, the accused can spend up to 180 days in jail and could pay a fine of up to $2,000. Drug-related offenses can also come with a license suspension.
Class A Misdemeanor Offenses
Anyone convicted of a Class A misdemeanor can face up to one year in county jail and fined up to $4,000. Probation may be a possibility but is never guaranteed. When the Class A misdemeanor is a DWI charge or a drug charge, convictions can lead to a driver’s license suspension. A subsequent misdemeanor charge will enhance the penalty for the second offense. A Frisco attorney will address each misdemeanor case seriously and as if it is the only one that matters.
A Frisco Misdemeanor Attorney Defends Your Freedom and Record
You should fight every accusation of criminal conduct with a credible defense that could exonerate you or result in reduced charges. Our attorneys get to know you, listen to your concerns, and consider you a part of our law firm, but we also offer the expertise and resources to defend you.
You should not construe misdemeanors as little crimes that will not affect you. They will. When many law firms do not want to bother with a trial for a misdemeanor, we do whatever it takes to clear your name. Contact a Frisco misdemeanor lawyer today to begin working on your defense.