An aggravated assault is a serious offense and can be committed in several different ways. At Andor, Goheen, O'Toole, Wadas & Gonzalez, P.L.L.C. , you will get an experienced, dedicated Collin County aggravated assault lawyer. These charges begin as second-degree felonies and have ranges of punishment from two years to 20 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.00. Many times, these charges can have enhancement paragraphs increasing the level of the offense to a first degree felony, affecting how sentencing is handled, as well as the ability and eligibility for parole. Having an experienced aggravated assault lawyer on your side to defend you or a family member can make all the difference.
If you or a loved one is facing an aggravated assault charge, you want an attorney on your side familiar with the law and what the state must prove to get a conviction. The experience you will find at the Collin County Law Group defending these serious charges means you can rest assured you will have an aggressive trial attorney in your corner.
Difference between assault and aggravated assault
In Texas a person commits an assaultive offense if they cause bodily harm to another, threaten to cause bodily harm or simply make offensive contact with another person. These offenses are typically misdemeanor offenses, with punishment ranges limited to county jail and fines up to $4,000.00. When a gun, knife, or other deadly weapon is used in the offense, or if a person causes or threatens serious bodily injury, the offense becomes a second degree felony.
Understanding what enhancement allegations mean for you
In its most basic form, an aggravated assault is an assault enhanced with either a deadly weapon allegation or an allegation of serious bodily injury. Aggravated Assaults can also be enhanced based on the classification of the person the state believes is the victim. If the state alleges a family member, a public servant, a witness, or a security guard is the victim the aggravated assault is now a first degree offense with a punishment range up to life in prison. Another way your charges may be enhanced is if the state accuses you of committing a drive by shooting. These enhancement allegations have very specific definitions, and any Collin County aggravated assault lawyer who represents you should know the law and how it applies to the facts of your case. This is important because it can affect the outcome of your case substantially. As experienced aggravated assault lawyers, our attorneys can help you understand these technicalities and how they will affect your case.
Punishments for aggravated assaults vary depending on many factors
The statutory range of punishment for an aggravated assault in Texas is anywhere between two years and 20 years and up to a $10,000 fine. If the aggravated assault is enhanced to a first degree then the range of the prison sentence is changed to five years to 99 years, or life in prison, but the fine stays the same. A person charged with these serious felony offenses may be eligible for probation. In Texas there are two types of probation: "straight" or regular probation, and deferred adjudication. Either type of probation keeps you or your family out of prison, but each of them will have a variety of conditions to meet and can last up to 10 years. For more explanation on the types of probation visit our page, Probation in Texas.
Use the contact form below to schedule your free consultation with The Collin County Law Group and feel relief knowing you have an experienced, dedicated, and passionate Collin County aggravated assault lawyer.