DRUG CRIMES ATTORNEYS IN ALLEN, TEXAS
Strong Protection From Drug Charges
Being charged with possession of marijuana or another drug violation can be overwhelming. You may wonder how these charges will affect your ability to secure employment, educational opportunities, financial aid for college, or even your freedom. The Texas Controlled Substances Act establishes strict laws regarding drug possession. We will explain these laws to you and ensure that you have the information you need to confidently approach your case.
With a board-certification in criminal law and a rating by The National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers in the Nation, attorney Joshua Andor can defend you from serious drug charges. The Collin County Law Group can provide you with the strong representation you need to protect your future.
Understanding Texas Regulations
According to the Texas Controlled Substances Act, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you intentionally possessed a controlled or illegal drug. Your criminal defense can be even more complicated if you were arrested for driving under the influence of drugs.
Some of the most common drug charges involve the possession and use of marijuana, including synthetic cannabis. The minimum penalties involve probation, a fine, and up to 180 days in jail. You may also be enrolled in a mandatory drug treatment program. If you are found in possession of more than two ounces of cannabis, you face up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $2,000.
What Are Drug Class Penalty Groups?
Potential penalties vary by drug and are classified by severity. When you face drug charges, it can be difficult to know exactly what you are up against. There are four groups of drugs, and each has particular penalties. Below we explain these classifications and some potential punishments:
Group One includes heroin, methamphetamines, cocaine, and LSD: Possession of less than one gram of these drugs is considered a felony that can result in up to two years in prison and fines of $10,000. For possession of one to four grams, you could face up to 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Manufacturing or distributing one to four grams could result in lifetime imprisonment.
Group Two includes hallucinogens like ecstasy and PCP: Possession of less than two ounces of a group two drug is a misdemeanor and can result in up to 180 days in prison and $2,000 in fines. Manufacturing or distributing one to four ounces of these drugs is a felony that can result in up to 20 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Group Three includes depressants and stimulants like Ritalin and Valium: Penalties for this group greatly vary by the amount of drug in possession and the individual’s intent. Possession of less than 28 grams is considered a misdemeanor. Manufacturing or distributing 28 to 200 grams is a felony that can result in 2 to 20 years in prison and fines up to $10,000. While some of the above substances are available by prescription, possession of the drug without a valid prescription is still a crime.
Group Four includes opioids such as morphine: Possession of less than 28 grams of these drugs is a misdemeanor; possession of over 28 grams is a felony. If you have over 400 grams in possession, you could face life imprisonment and fines up to $50,000.
Formulating A Strategy For Your Defense
While Josh is a fierce litigator capable of aggressively defending you in court, he is also easy to talk to and genuinely concerned about protecting your best interests. He will work with you to create the appropriate defense given your situation. With more than a decade of experience, you can trust that he understands how to create a strong case strategy to protect your future.
Contact Us For Capable Legal Counsel
If you face drug charges, call The Collin County Law Group to schedule an initial consultation at our Allen office. You may also contact our capable lawyers online.